Incoming Albuquerque Poet Laureate Celebration

Albuquerque Museum, Ventana Salon | 2000 Mountain Road NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104

Albuquerque Museum hosts an event on Luly 7, 2024, to introduce the City's new Poet Laureate.The City of Albuquerque’s Department of Arts & Culture and the Albuquerque Poet Laureate Program will announce and introduce the city’s seventh poet laureate during a celebration on Sunday, July 7 from 1-2 p.m. at the Albuquerque Museum. The program will include readings by former poet laureates and the incoming poet laureate whose two-year term runs through June 2026.

The event is free and open to the public.

Former poet laureates include Anna C. Martinez (2022-2024); Mary Oishi (2020-2022); Michelle Otero (2018-2020); Manuel Gonzalez (2016-2018); Jessica Helen Lopez (2014-2016); and Hakim Bellamy (2012-2014).

The Creative Bravos Award winning Albuquerque Poet Laureate Program (APLP) celebrates poetry by recognizing a resident poet who makes meaningful connections, honors, and serves our diverse community, elevates the importance of the art form, and shares poetry with Albuquerque residents. Consisting of an all volunteers, every two years the APLP Organizing Committee brings together various stake holders to choose a new poet laureate.


Albuquerque Poet Laureate Series

Co-published by UNM Press and the City of Albuquerque Department of Arts & Culture, the Albuquerque Poet Laureate Series features new and selected work by the city’s Poet Laureate at the conclusion of their two-year term.

Open-Hearted Horizon, An Albuquerque Poetry Anthology Edited by Valerie Martínez and Shelle Van Etten de Sánchez

Cover of Commisions y Corridos by Hakim Bellamy


Book Cover of The Blood Poems, by Albuquerque Poet Laureate Jessica Helen Lopez

Book Cover for Duende de Burque by Albuquerque Poet Laureate Manuel González

Book Cover for Bosque - Poems by Albuquerque Poet Laureate Michelle Otero