Fiction •  Latin America and Literature

The Entre Ríos Trilogy: Three Novels

Perla Suez
Translated by Rhonda Buchanan

The novels in this collection, written by Perla Suez in Spanish and expertly translated here to English by Rhonda Dahl Buchanan, take place in Entre Ríos, the Argentine province where thousands of Jewish immigrants settled at the end of the nineteenth century. Suez weaves history and memory in these tales of passion, violence, and intrigue.

Déborah, the protagonist of Lethargy, narrates the traumatic experiences of her youth in Basavilbaso, and captures the stifling atmosphere of intolerance and repression during the 1950s. In The Arrest Lucien Finz, a young Jewish farmer, leaves the rice fields of Villa Clara to study medicine in Buenos Aires, where he becomes a victim of La Semana Trágica, the "Tragic Week" in January of 1919, when government forces arrested, tortured, and murdered striking workers and many innocent people. Complot is an intricate web of lust, deceit, murder, and power, which spans the first three decades of the twentieth century, when Great Britain influenced the growth of the Argentine nation.

The Entre Ríos Trilogy has also recently been published by Norma Editorial, Buenos Aires, Argentina.


Rhonda Dahl Buchanan is a Distinguished Teaching Professor of Spanish and Director of the Latin American Studies Program at the University of Louisville, and the recipient of a 2006 NEA Literary Translation Fellowship. In 2000, she received the U of L Distinguished Teaching Professor Award, and in 2004, she was named the recipient of the U of L Trustees Award. She is the author of numerous critical studies on the narrative fiction of contemporary Latin American writers, and has translated the works of several Latin American writers, including Alberto Ruy Sánchez, Ana María Shua, and Perla Suez. In the summer of 2004, she received an award to participate in a three-week residency program at the Banff International Literary Translation Centre in Banff, Canada. She is the recipient of a 2006 NEA Literary Translation Fellowship.

Perla Suez is the author of award-winning children's fiction. The Entre Ríos Trilogy brings together her first three novels written for adults. Perla Suez has been Director of Cedilij (Center for Research and Diffusion of Children and Youngsters Literature). She was finalist for the Rómulo Gallegos Award as well as finalist for the Grinzane Cavour Literary Award in 2005.

Ilan Stavans is the Lewis-Sebring Professor of Latin American and Latino Culture at Amherst College.


" The Entre Rios Trilogy is . . . a literary exploration of the heart and soul of immigrants and outcasts, a meditation on the consequences of intolerance and injustice, and a paean to the perseverance of the human spirit."


Historical Novels Review

"This is a superb account of women's lives that are important in their public obscurity, and Buchanan's translation is flawless."


Shofar: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Jewish Studies

6 x 9 in. 272 pages 7 drawings, 5 halftones